Week 1: Blog 1- My thoughts on the course and blogging

This course is not my first online class however it is by far the most technical class I have had online. It is defiantly more hands on and engaging then the other classes I have been taken through out my academic career. I think that Dr. Magolis has gone over and beyond in his efforts to teach and have his students be apart of a class room environment even though we are all active via Blackboard Collaborate. In the beginning of this year I found out I was able to walk in the spring if I took six classes my spring semester and an a course in the summer session. I also was told that the Mass Communications department was getting new classes next year. At first thought I remember telling my friend Kristen Hatton, “ wow just my luck, brand new curriculum after I leave Bloomsburg”  but then I found out that one of those new classes was offered online. So here I am in Emergent Media, I have to say I am pretty excited to be apart of this class and learn something new before I am released into the real world. This will officially be my last undergrad class and i’m happy it is in the mass communication department. Emergent Media is most commonly described as communication in all forms including technology and all interactive parts that are integrated. So it was so surprise to me that we would be blogging. I am familiar with blogging after taking another PR class with Dr. Ganahl. However, we used blogger so this will be my first blog on wordpress.  We have been told time and time again to brand yourself. I think that the best way to brand yourself is to blog. In todays society we are completely consumed by the internet and it has a powerful influence. Blogging is a great way to stand out from your competitors as well has interact with people in your profession or business. Blogging is also an effective way to reach costumers, fans or family members. Either way you look at it, blogging is important in mass communications and emergent media. 

Leave a Reply

